Interview With The Amazing Author Of Meant To Be: Tiffany King

Today I have the honor of interviewing the talented author of Meant to Be, Tiffany King. This is one indie author you don’t want to miss out on! Tiffany knows what a reader wants and proves it from the very first page of her book. In addition, she’s a sweet and caring individual in real life. I’ve had the pleasure of chatting with her via Twitter and learning more about her success over on her blog.

Before we begin, let’s take a look at Meant to Be’s book description so that we’re all on the same page:

Krista Miller feels like she has lived her entire life in a glass box with her every emotion on display. She can’t help feeling like a defect as her sensitivities have made her socially inept and without any real friends; the one exception being the boy that visits her each night in her dreams.

Krista’s emotions are put to the test when a move to California triggers a devastating change to her fantasy world. The nightly comfort that the boy provides has now become a recurring nightmare as he is taken from her by an unseen force.

Struggling to appear normal, Krista enrolls in a new school and finds it to be nothing like she thought. Her new life is sent spiraling out of control from a strange connection with a boy, Mark, who claims to know all her secrets.

As Krista begins to explore the emotions that Mark evokes in her, secrets about their mysterious past and their predestined purpose threatens to separate them just when they have found each other.

Let’s take a look deeper into where this fabulous story came from.

Hi Tiffany! It’s so great to have you here today. Let’s get started.

What motivates you to write?

The desire to get a story out the way I want is what motivates me the most. I love writing, I love seeing the characters come alive and I love the fact that they all belong to me. That’s the beauty of writing, it’s your story that you created.

Which authors inspire you and/or influence your writing?

I am a huge J.K Rowling’s fan. I love that she created a complete world that a reader could lose themselves in. For me, a book is good when you can almost taste the food, feel the love and feel the pain of the characters that are written on the pages. When you can accomplish this you have truly created a work of art.

Which character is your favorite from Meant to Be and why?

Mark is my favorite character. He’s kind, romantic and loves Krista a great deal. (Plus he reminds me of my hubby LOL)

Do you, personally, believe in soul mates?

I completely believe in soul mates, after all I married my soul mate. He is my best friend, the one who makes me smile everyday and the light of my life. (Yep I’m a huge sap)

How much of you would you say crept into Meant to Be?

Krista is a huge part of me; I’m shy at times and get embarrassed at the drop of a hat, while Sam has my sense of humor and mischievous behavior. I guess you could say all of me is in Meant to Be.

How long did it take you to write Meant to Be?

Meant to Be flowed out of me in record time. Once it was completed though, we sat on it for two years while I finished my Bachelor’s degree. It had a brief overhaul before I released it but for the most part it took less than a month to actually write.

How do you feel about the debate over traditional publishing versus self-publishing? Would you opt for traditional publishing down the line or stick with self-publishing?

Self-publishing has worked very well for me and I feel truly blessed that Meant to Be has been received so well. It is tough work to self-publish; you are responsible for all the marketing and all the loopholes of getting your book out there for readers. If a publisher offered me a chance to get it in the hands of more readers, I would definitely consider it.

Do you have any side projects planned aside from the sequel to Meant To Be (Forgotten Souls)?

I just finished up a short story for an anthology, I was asked to participate in called The Glassheart Chronicles. I also have a book that is not paranormal that I would like to write as soon as my schedule clears up.

Did you ever taking any writing courses? Were you ever or are you now part of a writing group?

I took the typical computer classes and I also took a business writing class. I’m actually signed up to take creative writing classes this fall for my Master’s Degree. I’ve never been part of a writing group but I do have fabulous beta readers. I have also read several WIP by friends of mine. I love the sneak peeks but I could never be a critique partner.

What does a typical day in the life of Tiffany King entail?

Every day is so different and so busy lately, that I live for the days when I can finally be on some kind of routine. Every second seems to be earmarked right now with something to do, which drives me batty.

And just for fun, what is your guilty pleasure?

My guilty pleasure is being able to read while I’m eating. It drives hubby nuts but for me it’s my favorite way to eat. I never do it when we go out to eat though but I’ve been tempted to sneak it under the table. I live for the times he has to go potty so I can read a quick page hehehe.

What is your favorite romance movie?

Ooh tough question, I’ve always loved the dramatic romance movies like the Titanic, Regarding Henry, The Notebook, Time Travelers Wife and Terms of Endearment but I’m also a huge romantic comedy fan. I love all those sappy eighties movies like Breakfast Club, Somekind of Wonderful  and Sixteen Candles. Other movies that top my list are How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, 50 First Dates, Letters to Juliet, While you Were Sleeping and my new favorite Knight and Day.

What are you reading, right now? What are you looking forward to reading next?

As of this moment, I just started The Soul Screamers series by Rachel Vincent and I’m excited to dig into them. Books I’m looking forward to reading are: Ashfall by Mike Mullin, Chaos by Megan S. Duncan, Wildefire by Karsten Knight, A Touch Mortal by Leah Clifford, Soul Thief by Jana Oliver, Breathe by Abbi Glines and of course Tearing Honor by Renee Masson :o)

If you could be king or queen for a day in any time period, who would you be?

I don’t know if she would count but I would pick Cleopatra hands down. I recently read a story by a friend of mine Courtney Cole called Every Last Kiss and I loved how she made Cleopatra come alive.

Thanks, Tiffany! It was fascinating learning about the various facets behind your characters. I look forward to the sequel to Meant to Be, Forgotten Souls. As always, it was a pleasure!

You can pick up Meant to Be in paperback or ebook form right on Amazon.
Get your ebook for just 99 cents
Or your paperback edition for $8.99

You won’t want to put this one down. Beware! You’ll be sucked in at the first sentence. Don’t believe me? Check out my review of Meant to Be, a 5-star book. One of my favorite reads this year 🙂

About Renee

I'm a self-published author searching for her place in the publishing industry. I seek out inspiration through yoga and the world around me to transcribe into my writing. I work retail in the daytime and escape into my writing at night.
This entry was posted in Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

