Donating In Honor Of My Grandfathers

I’ve been thinking a great deal about giveaways I should be running for my readers.  Then I realized that instead of spending my money on something materialistic for a couple of readers, I could be donating that money to a charity and potentially save lives.  Fabulous idea! At least I think so.

In the past, I’ve participated in Relay for Life. This year, my sister will be doing so and I promised her I would donate to her team.  I will be donating a base of $10, and the rest will all be dependent on my readers.  For every copy of Tearing Honor I sell (ebook or paperback from Amazon or Smashwords – see Books By Me to locate Tearing Honor in the form you prefer) I will be donating another $1 to Relay for Life. This charity giveaway will run until June 16th, just before the walk begins.

Why is this so important to me? Both of my grandfathers passed away from Lung Cancer. One just recently, and the other about 15 years ago.  If one day we can find a cure, people won’t need to watch their loved ones suffer.

It was heart wrenching watching both of my grandfather’s suffer, while they sat at home just knowing they were going to die at any moment. The most recent occurrence was the most terrifying, watching my grandpa gradually acting more and more delusional, his face sinking in further and further with each visit, and him just sitting or laying in bed unable to do anything else. He was a carpenter and electrician, both of which were hobbies by the time he retired. So him not being able to do what he used to tore him up inside and everyone around him.  If we can give our future generation a cure so they can die peacefully in their sleep instead, I’m all for it.

What are you waiting for? So far, Tearing Honor has received 5 star reviews. It’s a quick and entertaining read set in Medieval times, following the story of one family that’s torn apart and later intertwined in the oddest of ways.  The daughter is sent to a convent at birth while the rest of the family remains together. The son becomes a Templar Knight and the father works at England’s court. Witchcraft and family dishonor leave conflict rampant throughout the novel. Tearing Honor is available in ebook form for only $1.99 or the paperback edition at $9.  Grab a copy for yourself or a give it as a gift to a friend, and in the meantime, you’ll be donating to Relay for Life too!

Who’s with me! Let’s help save some lives!

-Renee

About Renee

I'm a self-published author searching for her place in the publishing industry. I seek out inspiration through yoga and the world around me to transcribe into my writing. I work retail in the daytime and escape into my writing at night.
This entry was posted in Giveaways, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Donating In Honor Of My Grandfathers

  1. Nicole says:

    Thanks for donating to my team!

  2. Pingback: Out With The Old Obsession, In With Moderation! | Zaggitybomp's Blog

Leave a Reply

