One Month Devotion to Writing

Dear everyone,

I would like to share with you some fabulous news.  NaNoWriMo is over, as of last night at midnight.  Ok, so that isn’t exactly FABULOUS news.  I will admit, I thoroughly enjoyed the month devoted to writing daily.  I may not have written daily, I’ll be honest.  BUT, I did finish NaNoWriMo with 50,000+ words as required to be considered a “Winner”.  That is really the good news I wanted to share with you all.

My novel is not complete at the moment, but is coming to a close.  Everything should be rounded up in another 1,000 words.  Now I have to make the decision as to whether or not I want to go back and edit my entire novel to share it with friends.  Everyone keeps asking if they can read it, because they seem to believe it can’t be that bad.  I beg to differ, it’s probably one of the worst pieces of writing I’ve ever done.  Some parts are pretty amazing, and I’m proud of them. I  would say I am most proud of the parts of my novel that I didn’t want to step away from.  I would find myself excited about what I was writing, connecting with my characters, feeling my story come to life.  Those are the parts I would love to share with people.  Now I just need to go back and pick out those sections to share with you all.  Give me some time, I have 70+ pages, single-spaced, to sort through.

I think the greatest thing about NaNoWriMo was letting loose, just writing without discipline.  I enjoyed having a goal to reach each day.  Typically, I’m not the type of person to set goals for myself, so it was a fresh experience for me.  You don’t realize how important goals are to have until you set some and accomplish them.  I have such a strong feeling of success surging throughout my body, the joy of accomplishing such a feat as writing a novel.  I look forward to telling people about my accomplishment.  The next time someone judges me for working in retail, not using my degree at all, I can tell them that I wrote a novel.  Surely that will make them rethink judging me again.  Hey, it’s not every day a person can go around saying “I wrote a novel”.  Sure, I may not have a PUBLISHED novel, but it’s there.

I will gladly partake in NaNoWriMo a second time, if not a third and fourth time.  Only, next time, I would love to gather some writing buddies, join in on writing meetups, and get the full experience of writing on the fly, drinking coffee, and sacrificing sleep. So, without further rambling, I will be posting some clips over the month of December. Love to all!

-Renee

NaNoWriMo Winner

My winnings for completing 50,000 words!

About Renee

I'm a self-published author searching for her place in the publishing industry. I seek out inspiration through yoga and the world around me to transcribe into my writing. I work retail in the daytime and escape into my writing at night.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

