Determining a Title..

Readers, I owe it to you to provide an update on my writing status.

My NaNoWriMo novel is coming along fine, I suppose.  I am about three days behind the recommended schedule, but I feel that when it comes to crunch time, everything will come together.  That final crunch is always invigorating, and my determination will most certainly ensure that I complete my goal.  Disregarding word counts, and whether or not I will meet them, I would like to discuss another matter.  I have been bothered by my failure to provide a title to my novel as of yet.  When I hear others discussing their novels, and they actually have titles for them (fancy that!), their novel sounds far more orderly and finalized than say, my title-less novel.  I wonder, do other novelists enter their writing with a title in mind right at the beginning? Or does it come as they write more?  I feel like I have written enough to reach a point where I can give it a title, now at 19,500 words.  To be honest, I can’t even imagine having a title for my novel until I reach the final chapter.  I feel like I would give the work a title, but then so many plot points would occur in such a different way than I planned that the title wouldn’t even represent it well enough.  I can’t help but feel a bit irked whenever I open up my novel, and the document hosts the name “Oblate Nun Novel”.  This makes me feel so amateur in comparison to other writers.  Is it just me, or is a novel just a clump of words until it’s given a title?  When is it really best to categorize the novel under a short group of words, the selling point of the novel? And also, I feel like the creativity level that it takes to come up with a title is far greater than the level one uses throughout the writing process.  Such short phrases are so detrimental to the entire novel.  I think I will devote a few days to the development of a title, that way the condensed words will accurately depict my novel, but also peak interest.  But not yet, maybe it is too soon!  Who knew something so little could be so conflicting?!

Love,

Renee

About Renee

I'm a self-published author searching for her place in the publishing industry. I seek out inspiration through yoga and the world around me to transcribe into my writing. I work retail in the daytime and escape into my writing at night.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

