First Day of Nanowrimo – Success!

Dearest Readers,

I successfully finished my first day of Nanowrimo with 1700 words, at least 40 words more than the recommended amount to do daily.  I was quite surprised at my progress, sitting down at my computer as the words flowed throw my fingers onto the keyboard, solidifying on the Word document.  I hope to share a clip with you all of my writing at some point, but I feel the beginning is a little bland.  I’m not going back and changing it though.  The whole point of this month of writing is just to write, and that is what I plan on doing.  Everything is rough and I’ve noticed how simply I word things when I’m creating something new.  When writing critically, I am far more dense and comfortable with what I am speaking about.  This experience is completely different. I’m facing a blank slate, filling it with  my own thoughts and imaginative ideas.  I would like to work on my character development.  Oddly enough, I’ve found myself developing the nun’s brother, the knight I spoke of in my previous post, more than I have the nun.  I suppose this is natural, considering the nun is only a baby at this point in the book.  Now I see all of your confused faces rising into my mind, as you ponder what I could possibly have written in my novel so far.  I decided to go with an introduction of the family at the child’s (nun) birth and progress into the future of the child as a teenage nun.  This may change over time, but so far I feel rather comfortable with it.  I’m really keen on the knight’s character and look forward to developing him further.  Signing out, with much hope and inspiration.

Renee

P.S. Any suggestions, inspiring words, etc. are welcome.

About Renee

I'm a self-published author searching for her place in the publishing industry. I seek out inspiration through yoga and the world around me to transcribe into my writing. I work retail in the daytime and escape into my writing at night.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

