Most Responsive Social Media

Hi all,

Lacking the budget to dive into larger-scale marketing, I’ve relied on social media and word-of-mouth to spread the word about my book, Tearing Honor.  It has had some success, but not nearly as much as one would hope.  I have a lot to learn about marketing my book, I will admit that.  But despite this,  I wanted to share with you all a comparison of social media networks and their responsiveness.

I went on a rampage joining websites, learning to navigate said websites, and attempting to reach out to members.  Here’s a list of social media type networks I’ve been playing around with:

Now, I don’t know if these are all considered social media per-say, but that’s the way I’m approaching them – for their social interaction.

I have received the best responses from Facebook and Twitter.  This is most likely because these networks are so popular and I already had a nice base of friends and acquaintances built up before launching my book.  The quick, short rushes of information make it easier for people to keep up with everyone too.  I feel people are more likely to check out your links on these websites, particularly Facebook where it gives you a nice preview of the link beforehand. Great feature!  Twitter, not so much, but your tweet is so short that they have to click the link if they want to know more. Suspense – always a great seller.  On top of these features, I think part of the reason these websites are so responsive is because they’re so easy to navigate.

My main issue with trying to use these other websites, particularly LibraryThing, Spannet, and Redroom, is the difficult navigation across the sites. Redroom is still being developed, so I’ll give it that.  But LibraryThing is just a jumble of books and names, in my opinion. And Spannet, well, not having a membership is most likely the problem on that end.  I’ve honestly stopped visiting Spannet on a regular basis.

I adore the idea of Redroom.  It’s mainly an author website, filled with useful blogs.  Everyone is eager to respond to your comments, or even blog posts.  It’s a little more difficult here on WordPress, with billions of other blogs catching everyone’s eyes. Not yours of course ;)

And my favorite feature that isn’t nearly as close to being a social media website as the ones listed, is Bit.Ly.  I love that bit.ly tracks how many people have clicked your shortened link and from what country.  And to make it better, they give you these nice pie charts:
The beauty of these charts?  They also show you which social media websites are getting the most clicks for you.  I failed to mention NaNoWriMo in my case, which is terrible of me! But not all self-published authors participate in NaNoWriMo (which you should, for practice at least), and they don’t want people posting in the forums UNLESS you participate.  Anyway, back on topic, you can see in my chart that WordPress is not my best marketing tool, whereas Twitter and Facebook are pretty good.

And apparently someone from Singapore heard about my novel – that is super exciting.

Am I missing out on any social media networks? Which ones have been the most successful for you?

-Renee

About Renee

I'm a self-published author searching for her place in the publishing industry. I seek out inspiration through yoga and the world around me to transcribe into my writing. I work retail in the daytime and escape into my writing at night.
This entry was posted in Criticism, Self-Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Most Responsive Social Media

  1. Eric says:

    Twitter is really good for this as you mentioned – the openness lends to viralness. Facebook less so because it’s less open – you’re constrained by your network which can throttle the viral sharing. If you haven’t already, you should consider making a fan page for the book and/or you’re writing. This is a more public page. (Apologies as this is what you may have meant by Facebook rather than a normal user account)

    As for ones you didn’t mention StumbleUpon is really good for this kind of thing. Users tend to be more “sticky” (i.e. clicking around the site versus viewing one page and bouncing) and much more open to things – as that is the base nature of the site, to “stumble upon” interesting links. This is a very good way to get traffic if done correctly.

    You might also consider Delicious. If you have one, you should link to your Amazon page, blog, etc with the tagging you’d want. This will can potentially come up later on in “suggested tags” when other users go to bookmark it. It also associates those keywords in various ways with your pages – which is relatively minor in use for one person bookmarking it but can snowball eventually if many people bookmark your novel for key tags. This is because of the architecture of the site and the way search engines like Google parse it. This is a way to add to the SEO of your efforts if done correctly.

    There are others, but those are the two most likely to be useful. Hope that helps.

    Aside – bought the book and liked it. Thanks.

  2. Renee says:

    I’ve been considering StumbleUpon, since websites keep leading me there. I’ll definitely look into that, thanks! But, I might hold off on the Facebook page until I’m getting ready to launch my second novel. I have considered it a few times. I didn’t realize it was more public; that could definitely make a difference. I didn’t feel comfortable opening my personal Facebook page to the public, because I need a place where I can just share amongst friends and acquaintances my daily news. I’ve been avoiding creating a Facebook page up to this moment mainly because I feel funny having a page devoted to me. Well, it’s really devoted to my books, not to me. I just feel like people view it the other way sometimes. It will be coming in the future though.

    I’ve seen other authors using Delicious, and honestly, I don’t think I quite understand how it works. I’m going to peruse that website today and see if I can get a better understanding of it.

    Thanks for the tips. I’m glad you liked my novel! Your support is definitely appreciated.

    -Renee

  3. Eric says:

    The easiest way to think of Delicious is to think of bookmarks. Do you have sites that you save to your browser so that you can visite them easily again later on? Delicious is the same thing only one step further.

    First and foremost, it’s not limited to your computer. For example, if you bookmark something on your home computer you can’t reach it at work without also bookmarking it there. Delicious pushes your bookmarks to the cloud – so you can reach them anywhere. That’s the personal convenience. So beyond tagging just your own work you could also save useful writing resources, reference sites, etc for easy retrieval from any computer.

    Second, and more important to your book, it allows tagging of bookmarks. Personally it’s useful because if you’re a power user (I have something like 3000+ bookmarks in mine) it makes it much easier to retrieve something. Professionally, it allows you to associate those tags with your works. Delicious also functions as a semantic / social search engine. So if you tagged your book for “foo” it would show up at delicious/tag/foo.

    So the benefit is basically two fold – one you’re gaining more external links to your work which helps you with SEO and two you’re semantically associating the keywords (tags) you want to your work. As I said before when it’s just you the value is marginal, but as more and more people save it there and tag it the value grows.

    Hope that helps.

  4. Renee says:

    Interesting. Yep, that definitely helped out. Thanks for the explanation.

Leave a Reply

